9 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2015 3:51 AM by edmondplic

Help with Premiere, After Effects and Davinci workflow

patrik ingvarsson Level 1

Hi

I'm scratching my head wondering how I'm going to solve this workflow issue that I have, but hopefully it isn't that much of an issue.

We have shot a short film with an A-cam that delivers CinemaDNG files. I converted these files into Apple ProRes 422 Proxy with Davinci Resolve 9 Lite

and then I imported the proxy files into Adobe Premiere CC. The idea is to then to > edit the film in Premiere > import it to After Effects CC  via Dynamic Link (to make the effects we're after) > send it back to Premiere > export as XML to Davinci > relink to the original CinemaDNG-files and perform the color grading, and then finally export the film (either back to premiere to export it with audio or export it directly from Davinci in some way?)

I'm new to all this and I would really appreciate help!

Thanks in advance

Regards

Patrik

• 1. Re: Help with Premiere, After Effects and Davinci workflow
          shooternz Level 6

I'm new to all this and I would really appreciate help!

Lucky you did not start in the deep end!

Do you have an EDL workflow figured in the post prod plan?

Dump the proxy workflow if CC will edit the source files natively. Do a test first.

Do the dngs have timecode?

Edit source files thru to lockdown edit.

Break fx shots out to After FX

Take FX files and Edit to Resolve via EDL (or whatever)  SpeedGrade maybe more  viable for you in the new easy Direct Link workflow

Bring them back and reconform the program from EDL (or whatever).

Export via AME.

• 2. Re: Help with Premiere, After Effects and Davinci workflow
            Kevin-Monahan Adobe Employee

Hi Patrik,

Check out this workflow:

Thanks,
            Kevin

• 3. Re: Help with Premiere, After Effects and Davinci workflow
              R Neil Haugen Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Kevin,