5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 8, 2013 8:52 AM by Savvylumino

How do I merge/blend 2 layers to move and track together

Savvylumino

Hi, I am new to after effects trying to learn it off online tutorials so please help me with exactly what I have to click on very precise and I presume I know nothing! (as I know little)I have CS6

I have an old man whose eyes are slitty and so I have created a white with a layer and feathered it round his wrinkles and it looks ok.  I can add mask track to this in ae and also track it in mocha

I have an iris import clip that I then need to add to the white.  It is in .png.

I cannot make a mask path appear on the layer information to the left of the screen so the iris dances about and can't be tracked.

How do I blend the white mask layer and the iris layer so they move as one?   Do I put them together then track them togethr in mocha?

I have spent a day on this trying to figure it.  On top of that I would also like to clone an eyelid half open so that I can put this on top of white layer, iris layer and then eyelid and track all together. But if possible the white and iris moving together would be enough.

In the instructions on youtube I have also found that when I hit 3d little cube icon I get a black background on the iris and not the old mans face how do I get rid of that?

This is for a man who gets wolf eyes in the film.  Would it be easier to get some wolf eyes in photoshop and stick those on? the clip is just 4 secs long

Please very slow clear instructions I would be so grateful

• 1. Re: How do I merge/blend 2 layers to move and track together
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

There is an eye replacement tutorial at Video Copilot that you should probably look at.

However, to answer your specific question, you should be able to parent the irises to the whites.