20 Replies Latest reply on Nov 24, 2013 7:32 PM by Alex - DV411

Raid Card, what to look for in a card?

Ryan McCrae

Hi guys,

Im looking for help on what to look for in a Raid card. Im new to Raid, but i have read the tweakers pages and it seems like the way forward.

Im a full time editor working with AVC-Intra footage doing fast cuts. Im about to ditch my 2008 mac pro and build a up to date PC around the i7 4930k. Im planning on running 8x3-4tb drives for footage; raid 5, 3x3tb raid 3 for exports, maybe 2x256 ssd raid 0 for boot, 2x3tb drive for page file and media cache, and maybe 3x3tb for stock footage raid 0.

Im totally lost in what to look for in a Raid card?

Cheers Ryan

• 1. Re: Raid Card, what to look for in a card?
          Richard M Knight Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I'm no expert but I have an Adaptec 8 port card  set up as raid 5 which I use for everything except boot drive, I have a SSD for that.

8 WD2003FYYS-0 2TB raid drives, 7 active and one hot spare. I get about 700MB/S both read and write. Two 4 disc drive cages. All bought from ebay, the drives were new, the card and cages second hand. All work well with Premiere CC but I am only using Sony HD Ex footage so I am not pushing the system too hard.

• 2. Re: Raid Card, what to look for in a card?
            Ryan McCrae Level 1

Do the number of connectors on a raid card determine how many sets of raid drives can be connected; for example 4x SATA = 4 raid volumes possible?

Some Raid cards are SATA with multiple ports others are mini-SAS, with one connector. Whats the differnce and benifit of one type of connector over the other?

• 3. Re: Raid Card, what to look for in a card?
              cc_merchant Level 4

Read Harm's articles on disk setup, raids, balanced systems and much more here: Tweakers Page

• 4. Re: Raid Card, what to look for in a card?
                Alex - DV411 Level 2

what to look for in a Raid card?