0 Replies Latest reply on Nov 18, 2013 10:29 AM by rob.clap

APE12 Random white flashes in rendered and exported footage.

rob.clap

Hey there,

This is my first post in the forum, and I have already done a few google searches to try and resolve my problem, but to no avail!

I am also very new to Premiere Elements 12, and any other NLE out there, but I feel like I have learned a lot in a very short period.

So, now the problem;

I took some footage, from my T3i/600D which I believe uses AVCHD, I shot this at 1080p at 24fps (23.976fps). At first I loaded the footage in and edited it so that the clips would fade in and out of each other, and I was very pleased. I decided to play with colour correction, and again achieved the effect I wanted. However, there was a white door frame in the footage (which couldn't have been avoided) and it was kind of jarring to watch after colour correction. I exported this, just to see how it looked, using a custom AVCHD MP4 preset for 1080p and 23.976fps, and there were no playback issues. So, I decided to apply a vignette.

From my searches, I think the vignetting effect is fairly new in APE12? Because I have seen a few tutorials on creating a vignette in Photoshop for example, and then using the 'image matte keying' effect.

Initially, I tried applying the vignetting effect bundled with APE12 to one of my clips, but I couldn't figure out if it was possible to change the shape of the vignette (from oval to a more square vignette), or how to move it without moving the entire clip out of the frame. Just to clarify, I applied the vignetting effect straight to the clip, I'm not sure if it is possible to create an adjustment layer to apply the vignetting effect to, which would then allow me to move the vignetting effect separate from the original video clip.