5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 21, 2013 4:08 AM by DDcreams

Masking a circular animation in Edge Animate?

bludgeonsbest Level 1

I am new to Edge Animate and I need to create a mask that will hide the elements as they rotate out of a free-floating window. I have an animation currently that sits in a circular window and plays when the page loads. The screen shot below is from the page in Muse with the .oam file playing. The images are PNGs with transparent backgrounds so the animation plays over the background images. 

Screen Shot 2013-11-18 at 11.01.30 PM.png

What I'm trying to add is an iris effect I've animated in Edge Animate. I haven't been able to hide the edges of the vanes in the iris during animation. I've tried to cut and paste code that I've found on this forum and others but I don't know much about coding and I haven't had any success. This screenshot is shortly after the animation starts to play as the vanes rotate out of the window:

Screen Shot 2013-11-18 at 11.15.20 PM.png

Basically, I need to mask the iris animation to keep the images from showing outside the circular frame. I've found that the clipping tool in Edge only does square or rectangular masks. I have a PNG that I can use as a mask but the coding has really got me flummoxed. The mask:

If anyone has a (simple) way to insert the code I need or a workaround, I'd greatly appreciate it. Thanks.

• 1. Re: Masking a circular animation in Edge Animate?

"So the animation plays over the background images " flip your logic

Well I've done this before a number of times in a number of languages, this isn't a code issue... atleast as far as I can tell from what you explained, what I would do is this. This is really basic stuff is video games...

*the Above blue area is made 100% transparent

*make "1 symbol placed behind it" ( shown in pink ) in edge