5 Replies Latest reply on Feb 10, 2014 11:51 PM by michaelgoshey

Live Logger feedback & issues

Sarkanen Level 1

Hi,

I am a Freelance Junior Editor of a commercial production house. We recently used Live Logger in conjunction with Prelude and Premiere Pro CC on the set of one of our shoots for the first time and we found the software excellent in theory but lacking in practice and would like to provide our feedback not only with the functionality of Live Logger, but the integration of the logs in Prelude and Premiere Pro in particular.

Critique:

• As others have mentioned before, the iPad clock-based logs DO NOT sync with camera clock in Prelude, instead listing time of day as 00:00:00:00. This makes use of the Live Logger app all but worthless except when doing really long extended takes when you can just as easily add the same comments in Prelude while going over the footage after the fact. Putting an in-point when the camera rolls is a decent fix we used, but it still takes away from the basic promised functionality of the app.
      • The comments appear to be only searchable and selectable in Premiere when you’re inside the actual clip, not in the timeline itself, making the whole comment system nearly useless when you’re dealing with hours of footage lined up in a rough assembly and you want to quickly find specific markers.
      • The simplicity of dragging comments around in Prelude is completely lost in Premiere, where it becomes quite a hassle, due to the interface, to adjust comment durations and placement.
      • The separation of the Settings menu from the Logging interface. Use the iPad functionality, have the settings be a pull-down menu from the Logging window so you can change things on the fly or at the very least quickly before starting to Log.