5 Replies Latest reply on Nov 25, 2013 2:11 PM by raycec

Inserting Figure # mid-document

raycec

I have been asked to update a document in InDesign that was previously created by another individual. I am new to InDesign so I have been working to learn the software by watching youtube videos and reading tutorials online.

I need to insert information that is missing so I inserted a new pages (pages 166-167) and I am now attempting to insert a Figure# for the image I need there.

The Figure # is setup as a Paragraph Style.

There are Figure #s that exist on later pages in the document from the one I have inserted.

This Figure # should be 8. However, 8 and 9 already exists on later pages (170-171). When I insert a new Figure # from Paragraph Style it inserts #10 instead of 8 and renumbering the ones after it.

Is it possible to tell it to renumber the existing figures after this one based on page number?

I also tried deleting the Figure #s from later in the document and creating them in the new order yet it still renumbers them back to what they were which makes no sense at all.

Thanks in advance for the help

• 1. Re: Inserting Figure # mid-document
          Sue@Jump Level 1

At a guess,

It sounds like the Paragraph Style may be including options from the Bullets and Numbering category.

If it is, make sure the numbering 'Mode' is set to 'Continue from previous number', and that all those numbers in your document are using that same paragraph style.

Hope that helps.

• 2. Re: Inserting Figure # mid-document
            raycec Level 1

I verified the Mode is set to Continue from previous number so that is not the cause.

• 3. Re: Inserting Figure # mid-document
              Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

I have a feeling that they will only renumber if they are all threaded text frames - then it will know that 8 comes before 9 as it's in a continous flow.

However, standalone text frames will be numbered in the order they are created.