7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2007 2:16 PM by Zolotoj

OpenLaszlo Vs Flex

:: FixXxeR ::
      Hi to all, I'm new to RIA world and I have to project and develop one as a University's final work.

As said I got to develop a RIA and I've got to choose between Adobe Flex and Openlaszlo ( http://www.openlaszlo.org/) knowing more or less nothig about this two technologies.

I suppose you would chose the Adobe product, can you explain me why, which advantages wuold give me using Flex instead of the completely open source OpenLaszlo?

Thanks
        • 1. Re: OpenLaszlo Vs Flex
          ntsiii Level 3
          Flex is also open source.

Flex has a hotter developer community, and is backed by Adobe, who has the resoruces to keep it up to date.

Flex is sure to keep up with the latest Flash Player.

Tracy
          • 2. Re: OpenLaszlo Vs Flex
            Den.James
            Laszlo will be much more intensive. In my limited experience with it, it was like developing a flash application without the nice stage interface. In other words, imagine making a movie, but you can only see the script until it is finished.

Flex has many presents, which makes life quick and easy, but it also locks you down to a specific set of options. Any expansion is extremely intensive, but as long as you stay within the bounds of what is given to you, you will be walking the high life.

Enjoy!
            • 3. Re: OpenLaszlo Vs Flex
              Zolotoj Level 3
              <Flex has a hotter developer community
              I am not sure about it. There are only a few people and you are one of them who actually help other developers.
              <and is backed by Adobe
              Yes, I have seen one or two Adobies helping here.
              My expectations were higher then what I see here. I think a sad part here is not that developers not helping each other but is that the product itself is not as hot as I thought.
              Hope I am wrong.