14 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2016 3:50 AM by Abambo

Indesign Text Editing

Clare Katavich

Hi - I'm editing an indesign file created by someone previously. 

When I select text to edit, it is selecting the nodes of the letters and not the actual text - so I'm not sure how to edit?  Can you please help.. I'm a newbie (but not for long)..

Thanks, Clare

• 1. Re: Indesign Text Editing
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

You're in trouble. Somebody converted the text to outlines, and you can no longer edit it. It will need to be created new as text again.

• 2. Re: Indesign Text Editing
            Clare Katavich Level 1

Does this mean that they created the text as objects?  I've added the screen shot of the press ad I'm working on.. The text is all selected as outlines - you're right!

How would this help in indesign? ie. why would they do that?  They've created several press ads this way..

When I go to create new text, it puts a cursor over the middle of my ocean view..

Is there any easy way I can edit the text in this file?  I had the same issue yesterday on another press ad..

Thanks, Clare

• 3. Re: Indesign Text Editing
              casinclaire Level 1

Clare, the previous answer was on point. Someone created the file as text first, but for some reason converted all text to outlines before passing on to you. They clearly didn't anticipate edits being made, because this is usually done when layout and design are finalized, and then only so that the recipient -- usually a print shop -- who may not have the original typeface on their computer, can still have an accurate reproduction of the design. (Since curves are no longer text, they won't try to substitute another font if the one they represent isn't on the recipient's computer.)