5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2013 8:44 AM by Jump_Over

Getting the computers username in to a text box in indesign

thomcook

Hi

I'm totally new to scripting but at my firm they want to have a text box on their InDesign documents that will show the username of the computer. The idea is that this would be tagged a little like you do in data merge so the box would be '<<USERNAME>>' and this would automatically change to the name of the computer account using it. We did have aguy working on this but he left. I found a script on his computer that had the file 'username.jsx' in his InDesign scripts. When you open it simply has the line '$.getenv('USER')' in it but I have no idea how to make this work.

We are all working on macs.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

Thom

• 1. Re: Getting the computers username in to a text box in indesign
          Gonterman1201 Level 1

Yeah that should get the user. You could also do something like this.

if (File(["/Applications/OPCS"]).exists){

var myFile2 = File(["/Applications/OPCS"]);

myFile2.open("r",undefined,undefined);

var computerOperator = myFile2.readln();

myFile2.close();

}

Then you will have to apply computerOperator to a text box.

• 2. Re: Getting the computers username in to a text box in indesign
            thomcook Level 1

Hi Gonterman1201