3 Replies Latest reply on Dec 4, 2013 8:15 AM by ja3754

Designate Repeating Headers

kenseysings

Hello there!

I am looking to automate a task - and I'm sure the solution must be out there, but I'm fairly new to InDesign and am having trouble finding it. I am working on formatting our company resumes (which are all contained within one document), each resume has the same headers throught but with a varying number of bullets afterward like so:

Role:

- Project Manager

Education:

- BS, Engineering - Sacramento State University

- MS, Engineering - Sacramento State University

Professional Skills:

- Roadways

- Roundabouts

- Hydrology

Is there a way (GREP, text variables, script, etc.) to set up a command in which will tell InDesign to use the bullet style until it reaches one of the repeating headers and then start the cycle over? I would just the the script here (http://www.freelancebookdesign.com/scripts/quick-apply-with-next-style) but every resume has a different number of education or skills bullets.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

• 1. Re: Designate Repeating Headers
          Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Apply with next style is the correct way to do this.

But the number of paragraphs needs to be consistent.

And with the Professional Skills bullets they need to be named

PS Bullet 1

PS Bullet 2

PS Bullet 3

etc.

But there's no way for InDesign to know if a Bullet style is finished and not apply the last bullet style.

So basically - I don't know of a way to do this.

• 2. Re: Designate Repeating Headers
            Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

I don't think you'll be able to automate this other than by script, and maybe not then unless there's alread some formatting difference you can key on.