4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 3, 2013 4:09 PM by cobbcobb2

JS for randomizing tiered quiz questions?

Kevin McMahon

Alright noble edge users out there - I could really use your help:

I am creating a quiz in edge with 10 levels - each level asks a question dealing with a particular topic for that level.  To make it more challenging/random, I want to allow each level's question to pull from a pool of 2-3 possible questions for that particular level (rather than one general pool for all 10 questions).

I have created symbols out of each question - and played with a few randomizing options - but I am a tragically front-end designer

Any help is greatly appreciate!

• 1. Re: JS for randomizing tiered quiz questions?
          cobbcobb2

A lot of that depends on how you've structured your game. Hopefully someone can add to this, but If you're wanting to stick mostly to coding from the timeline in edge animate, then you could do something like this:

1) Insert a timeline label at the location of each question.

2) Insert a timeline trigger at the beginning of your animation to create global array that contains the names of each timeline label for your questions. Something like this:

window.possible_questions = ["Timeline Label 1","Timeline Label 1","Timeline Label 1","Timeline Label 1"];

3) After you create the possibleQuestions array you can then send the user to the first random question by generating a random array index within the range of the remaining questions using something like this:

//generate random index

var random_index = Math.floor(Math.random() * possible_questions.length);

//store the next question label

var next_question = possible_questions[random_index];

//remove the label from the array so we don't come back to it again

possible_questions.splice(random_index, 1);

//send the player to that label

sym.stop(next_question);

4) At each question, put something like this. If you want to detect the end of the game you can do that as well: