• Español
      • Français
      • Português
  • 日本語コミュニティ
    Dedicated community for Japanese speakers
  • 한국 커뮤니티
    Dedicated community for Korean speakers
Exit

Differences between /FontFile2 and /FontFile3, or OS X Preview?

New Here ,
Dec 05, 2013 Dec 05, 2013

Copy link to clipboard

Copied

(This is my first post in these forums, so apologies if this topic is not appropriate.)

I've written a pile of Java utility code to generate PDFs with subsetted TrueType fonts using a CID-keyed font. (I know: there are multiple frameworks that do this type of thing. But I'm a hobbyist tinkerer who enjoys building things, and I'm enjoying learning how these technology stacks hang together.)

My code creates a font descriptor with a /FontFile2 reference to my TrueType font program output stream. The subsetted font always has the .notdef glyph at glyphIndex 0, with subsetted glyphs thereafter as they are first referenced. I'm using an identity mapping of CID==GlyphID. (I've been reading the various specs... the ISO PDF 1.7 reference, TrueType and OpenType specs at Microsoft and Apple, and several Adobe Tech Notes on various font and CMap technologies.)

All this seems to work.

However I'd like to also explore OpenType fonts with glyphs in a 'CFF ' table (CIDFontType0 instead of my CIDFontType2), and in preparation I'm trying to adapt my current TrueType-based code to OpenType using a /FontFile3 reference.

That's where the wheels fall off the train. Since I'm still dealing with 'glyf'-based fonts, I expected minimal changes, e.g., switching the font file dictionary key and putting the /Subtype -> /OpenType wrapper on the font stream itself.

Adobe Acrobat renders the resulting PDF just fine, and preflighting didn't bring up any errors (though possibly I'm not using Acrobat right). However OS X Preview under Mavericks scrambles my glyph mapping in a way that I can't mentally reverse engineer. I've tried tweaking things, but I'm stuck.