4 Replies Latest reply on Dec 11, 2007 2:10 PM by <cf_pt>

How to check if a DataGrid is Loaded

<cf_pt> Level 1
      All - I'm new to flex and struggling - getting past simple examples is proving a challenge - but not one that isn't worth taking. I'm trying to display a "loading" message for my users when as I load up many rows into a datagrid. As this may take as much as 10 seconds, it's not enough to simply leave the grid empty.

I'm having a hard time testing to see if the data grid is loaded - I was thinking of some sort of event listener to check and see if the data grid rows value was GT 1 or something, but I feel like I'm taking the long way around - Can anyone help??

Thanks!
      PT
        • 1. How to check if a DataGrid is Loaded
          m_hartnett Level 3
          How are you loading the data?
          Are you using a datasource to an xml file?

I think you can use the valueCommit event to listen for finish loading of the data.

I am not entirely sure on this ... maybe someone can confirm this.

• 2. Re: How to check if a DataGrid is Loaded
            <cf_pt> Level 1
            I'm doing the basic XML load via the <mx:HTTPService id="feedRequest"... example in all the beginner books. My dataGrid then has the dataProvider="{feedRequest.lastResult.rss.channel.item}" bit of code to load it up. There's also the creationComplete="feedRequest.send();" bit in the application tag-
            Pt
            • 3. How to check if a DataGrid is Loaded
              m_hartnett Level 3
              You can define another method called creationCompleteHandler();
              This would get called in the creationComplete event instead of feedRequest.send();

In this new method you can display a message that the data is loading and then call the feedRequest.send();
              private function creationCompleteHandler() : void {
              displayMessageSomehow;
              feedRequest.send();
              }