20 Replies Latest reply: Dec 18, 2013 9:53 AM by bedford falls RSS

Table of Contents for objects?

bedford falls

I am new to this so .... I am publishing a children's literature journal for individuals who work with children.  I have produced a Table of Contents using the layout feature in indesign cc.  Now I want to produce a table of contents for the children's illustrations (object styles not paragraph styles).  I have created a new paragraph style for those paragraphs that have greyscales anchored in them, but then the entire paragraph prints out in the table of content for each greyscale.  Any ideas?

Gary

• 2. Re: Table of Contents for objects?
          bedford falls Community Member

Michael

Thanks for your quick reply.  I will pass this along to someone who understanding the process better than myself.  I was hoping for some really neat indesign trick and maybe this is it and I just don't realize it.

Gary

• 3. Re: Table of Contents for objects?
            John Mensinger CommunityMVP
            ...but then the entire paragraph prints out in the table of content for each greyscale.

Right, that's how it works. The paragraph style targeted should be styling whatever you would want as the Table of Figures entry. So, I don't know if/how you title or caption those illustrations, but you need to style those titles/captions with a paragraph style, then target that style for the table. If there is no visible title or caption, then add a text frame to the page, type in whatever you want to appear as the table entry, and give the text a fill of None.

• 4. Re: Table of Contents for objects?
              P Spier CommunityMVP