21 Replies Latest reply on Dec 16, 2013 10:22 AM by Steve Grisetti

8-mm video editing

74TeJay

I have 200 50-ft. movies already stored on my HD.  I've viewed several video's supplied with PE -12 version and none of them really helped me with just the basic organization and beginning steps for tackling this very large editing job.  While I am a novice I am not new to computers.  I need some simple beginning step by step insturctions so I can correctly start this project.  The supplied video tutorials supplied with PE- V-12 are not very well laid out and have so far given me little to go with. 

Any assistance with this would be much appreciated. 

TeJay

• 1. Re: 8-mm video editing
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

If you tell us what you're trying to accomplish, we can certainly help.

But first, be sure to give us the specs on your video files. You don't say how you got these files to your hard drive or what model of camcorder they came from, so open them in Media Info or G Spot and note the resolution, frame rate and audio and video codecs listed.

http://www.headbands.com/gspot/

Then start with my free 8 part Basic Training tutorials at Premiere Elements support site Muvipix.com.

http://forums.adobe.com/thread/537685?tstart=30

I offer more advanced tutorials for the program on both Muvipix.com and a complete course on http://lynda.com.

And, if you want to know how to use every tool in the program, you can check out my books.

http://Muvipix.com/pe12.php

The answers are out there -- if you ask the questions!

• 2. Re: 8-mm video editing
            John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The Tutorial Links Page http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1275830 may help, including a Bill Hunt article at the bottom of the page on how to organize a project

And, some other reading...

Premiere Elements FAQ List (2 pages of FAQ as of September 2013) http://forums.adobe.com/community/premiere_elements/premiere_elements_faq?view=all