9 Replies Latest reply on Dec 20, 2013 2:07 PM by Kawika808

Best to use MP2 to DVD or MP4 to DVD?

Kawika808 Level 1

I'm very new at burning DVD's so bear with me on this...

First: is MP4 a higher quality format than MP2?  In other words, does it use less compression and/or less lossy compression and/or more technically advanced compression?  The only thing I know is that it looks very good; not as good IQ as original AVCHD footage but I need something to burn to a standard DVD.

My experience to date:

MP4 (generated by PrE12 from a track made up of mostly AVCHD clips but a couple of others in the mix) was excellent quality.

This same MP4 burned to DVD via my HP laptop burner had the same excellent IQ, but it was jumpy (short stop-go) when played.

This same MP4 burned to DVD via PrE12 played smoothly, but the IQ wasn't as good.

This same MP4 burned to DVD via WinXDVD Author (free version) played smoothly AND retained good IQ.  The IQ wasn't quite as good as the original MP4 file, but that's not surprising because every save or conversion degrades somewhat.  Since this was an initial test and I didn't want to waste a lot of time, I used the 4x setting to burn; I presume that 2.4x (the other option on WinXDVD Author) will yield better IQ.

MP2 (generated by PrE12 from the same track made up of mostly AVCHD clips but a couple of others in the mix) played smoothly, but the IQ wasn't as good, especially in a slo-mo portion.

I often see posts saying that MP2 is the best format for burning to DVD, but from what I've seen so far, it doesn't seem to be the case.  Am I missing something?  Is the main benefit that it doesn't cause the jumpiness on DVD?

And finally, is there some other common format, available as an option on PrE12, that might give a better result in terms of both smooth play and high IQ?

• 1. Re: Best to use MP2 to DVD or MP4 to DVD?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Do you mean DVD-Video?