6 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2013 9:17 AM by Eugene Tyson

Help: How to format lots of numbers with a GREP style

pireatesgold

Hi there,

I am using XML to bring a lot of data into InDesign from an Access database.  I want to autogenerate demographic "fact sheets" about a bunch of neighborhoods.  Since I'm a total noob at this workflow, I'm having trouble figuring out how to format the numbers I'm bringing in.  As an example, right now I have -7.03129508372747E-02, which I need to format as -7.0%,  Is there a way to define a GREP style that can do this for me?  I also need to be able to put in commas or $ in some cases.  Since there are thousands of numbers here, I need to be able to do it automatically.  Help me, internet!

Thanks very much,

Elizabeth

• 1. Re: Help: How to format lots of numbers with a GREP style
          Eugene Tyson Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Hi Elizabeth

Grep Styles cannot replace text.

It can only apply a Style, like bold or Italic to the text.

You'd be better off importing the text to Excel first - having it apply a Percent and decimal placement in the cell there.

Then import the excel sheet into InDesign.

I'm afraid what you're asking to do with Grep Styles is just not possible as it's not designed for that.

However it might be possible to Script what you want.

http://forums.adobe.com/community/indesign/indesign_scripting

• 2. Re: Help: How to format lots of numbers with a GREP style
            pireatesgold Level 1

Thanks for the quick response!  As I understand it, the problem with applying formatting in excel is that there the numbers simply APPEAR to be smaller.  When you export them to XML, the formatting doesn't come with.  Is there a smart way to get around this problem?  Surley tons of people must use an automated proess to layout pages of numbers in InDesign.

• 3. Re: Help: How to format lots of numbers with a GREP style
              John Mensinger Adobe Community Professional & MVP

pireatesgold wrote: