5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 18, 2013 2:07 PM by lapneto

Calculations after spawning a page

lapneto Level 1

Hello everyone,

This forum has been so helpful that I felt like asking another question.

I have successfully added a button to my form to add another page based on a hidden template.

Everything seems fine, except for the fact that I can in no way get the calculations to work automatically.

I took a look around the forum, but since I am no programmer and am doing this out of curiosity, could any of you point me in the right direction?

I know the field names are automatically renamed when spawning and this is necessary, but I can not find a way of successfully referencing to the newly created fields.

Just for ease of reference, the fields in the template are named "Mod_A_P_A_1", "Mod_A_P_A_2", "Mod_A_P_A_3" etc, so the spawned page will look like "P#.Mod_A_P_A_1" etc...

Thanks in advance for all the help!

• 1. Re: Calculations after spawning a page
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Combining calculations with spawning pages is quite a complex task. You basically need to write a script that looks up the fields to use in the calculation, because you can't know in advance what their names are going to be.

• 2. Re: Calculations after spawning a page
            George_Johnson MVP & Adobe Community Professional

So what is the calculation that you'd like to perform? The field name of a calculated field will have the same prefix (e.g, P2.Mod_A_P_A_1) as the other fields on the page and can be retrieved in the script using the event.target.name property. For example:

// Split this field's name at the periods

var fna = event.target.name.split(".");

// Get the field name prefix of all fields on the page

var fp = fna.length > 1 ? fna[0] + "." + fna[1] + "." : "";

// Perform a simple calculation

event.value = getField(fp + "text1").value - getField(fp + "text2").value;

• 3. Re: Calculations after spawning a page