7 Replies Latest reply on Dec 21, 2013 5:43 AM by Laubender

Script that will show the character count of all carriage resturns

Blujely

I have found a bug when exporting an indd to idml. If a a carriage return falls in a character count that is a multiple of 8000 + 1 it is converted to a paragraph separator (u2029). I am in the process of mass exporting around 3000 files to idml for a project. I am trying to come up with a way with a script to check the files to see if carriage returns exist in these locations. I am fairly new to scripting and don't know how this would be done. I know it is possible to get character counts but is it possible to check if a character exists in a certain character count from the beginning of a story? Any help on this would be appreciated.

Also has anyone else ran into this with exporting to idml? I have submitted a bug report. This is can be recreated across multiple computers, OS's and versions of InDesign.

• 1. Re: Script that will show the character count of all carriage resturns
          Laubender Adobe Community Professional & MVP

@Blujely – to see that right:

if character \n is  at position 8001 (or a multiple of that) in, and here I'm not sure what you exactly mean:

1. The actual Story in an InDesign file?

2. The Story_xxxx.xml of the IDML file?

Counted from the beginning "<?xml" to the end "</idPkg:Story>"?

3. Something else?

What is the DOMVersion of the IDML?
          (Second line in a Story_xxxx.xml)

Could you detect that also with the Snippet format IDMS?

Uwe

Message was edited by: Laubender

• 2. Re: Script that will show the character count of all carriage resturns
            Blujely Level 1

@Laubender

Thank you for responding.