18 Replies Latest reply on Dec 23, 2013 6:06 AM by Peter Spier

Print Issue

joshnx Level 1

Im kinda new to the printing aspect so please bear with me

I have a 112 page brochure with images that have been color corrected and edited with sky replacements, the problem is when I send the brochure for offset printing the images appear dull and dark, the images were edited in photoshop and placed in indesign and exported as a High quality Pdf, onscreen they look fine in the final pdf but printed its alot different, my question is, is there anything I could do without overly damaging the color of the images and if its possible that it could be the printer thats messing up the colors?

• 1. Re: Print Issue
          Peter Spier Most Valuable Participant (Moderator)

Without more information it's hard to say, but it sounds like a color conversion issue from your RGB images to the printer's CMYK color space. Did you send PDF (if so, what settings did you use to make it) or native files? Did they give you a color profile to use?

• 2. Re: Print Issue
            joshnx Level 1

Yes I sent a pdf generated from indesign itself which from what I hear converts to CMYK the same way photoshop would, basically this is what I did, Inserted RGB images from photoshop into the brochure created in indesign, chose to export as High quality preset ( I didnt fiddle with anything else )

• 3. Re: Print Issue

The High Quality Print Preset preserves colors, and would have included the source profiles IF you embedded them in your images when you saved them.

Again, without knowing what the print conditions were, and what the images look like, it's not possible to know if the colors in the images were out-of-gamut for the destination space, or if the printer did a bad job of converting.

1 person found this helpful
              • 4. Re: Print Issue
                Willi Adelberger Most Valuable Participant