9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 2, 2014 7:19 AM by the_wine_snob

'Auto Levels' effect - What exactly is it doing?

Pbeck1 Level 1

I'm quite new to video editing & making some home movies. I'm looking for an easy way to brighten (and color correct) my indoor video clips that have been shot under poor lighting, so they look as good and bright as the ones outdoors. It would be great if all clips along the movie were roughly the same brightness and didn't contain nasty color casts.

I'm interested in the 'Auto Levels' effect for this but I'm unsure as to exactly what it does. To me it looks like it's a tool to brighten those dark clips up to their ideal level and to remove those color casts, and if so it's exactly what I'm looking for.

However, In the help file (Pre10) it says:

Auto Levels automatically corrects the highlights and shadows. Because Auto Levels adjusts each color channel individually, it may remove or introduce color casts, which are tints to a clip.

What I'm unsure about after reading the help file (above) is this: Is it just effecting only the highlights and shadows like it says? If so, what about the mid-range of tones (sorry but I'm used to using Lightroom, lol). My guess is that it is actually stretching each color channel to it's dark and bright maximum, and thus brightening the levels universally across all tones, and at the same time removing color casts. So my confusion is why the help file just says highlights and shadows.

Could anybody help me to understand the effect better?

Also, is there an ideal standard level of temporal smoothing to remove those sharp changes, ie one that fits most clips fairly well?

• 1. Re: 'Auto Levels' effect - What exactly is it doing?
          N9JCR Level 2