11 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2013 12:57 PM by Sofa

Image Placement is off by a Pixel

Sofa

Hi Everyone,

I'm Sofa. I'm an artist. I'm using the latest version of photoshop. Running on W7. I have AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Processor with 24gigs of ram running on 64 bit with enough hard drive space.

What I'm working on now is compositing passes in Photoshop. These images aren't special, in fact any image I use the problem I have occurs. If recall correctly, this isn't a new bug. I've seen this before in CS3-4.

I've tried looking up solutions here and else where. I turned off Resize Image During Place which sort of fixed the problem. I understand the function is to correctly resize images based on their DPI. Useful to some, but it would be nice if this had more verarity because as someone else stated. We all do not print. Why not have it resize to Canvas? Last I remember, Photoshop was also a compositing application. One benefit from turning this feature off was it gave me images full resolution. I say that because at times it would inappropiately resize my photos thus losing resolution.

So when I go to place an image, its offsets the image by 1 pixel. Let me show you.

http://oi39.tinypic.com/2ymgawi.jpg

Now this can get crazy, because it randomly decides which direction it pushes the pixels. This isn't a huge issue, but is very tedious since alignment is critical for composites.

Its getting crazy. This issue also happens when I copy an image into another layers alpha channel. Which ultimately, blew my mind. I don't know where is starts or ends with this pixel pushing. So has anyone experienced this, any solution would be nice.

Thanks,

Sofa

• 1. Re: Image Placement is off by a Pixel
          Jeff Arola Adobe Community Professional

Try first doing a Select>All before placing an image and see if that works any better.

• 2. Re: Image Placement is off by a Pixel
            Sofa Level 1

That did not work. Thanks though.