5 Replies Latest reply on Dec 26, 2013 7:44 AM by gkaiseril

Checking Boxes based on value in a Text Field

MikeVTelco

Hi.

I'm building a pdf form in Acrobat X Professional. I want to add JavaScript to two checkboxs to achieve the following:

if the value of a text field (LType) is equal to 61, 64, 66, or 67, the first checkbox (PlanACheck) will have the value of being checked.  If the value of the text field (LType) is equal to 60, 62 or 63, the second checkbox (PlanBCheck) will have the value of being checked.

I have no experience in Javascript other than copying and pasting, so I'm not sure I'm using the right language to search. If anyone can provide any guidance, I would greatly appreciate it.

Thanks a lot!

• 1. Re: Checking Boxes based on value in a Text Field
          try67 MVP & Adobe Community Professional

Usually this kind of thing will be implemented as the custom Calculation script of the target field, but check-boxes don't have a Calculation script, so we'll use the text field's Validation script to do it, with this code:

this.getField("PlanACheck").checkThisBox(0, (event.value=="61" || event.value=="64" || event.value=="66" || event.value=="67"));

this.getField("PlanBCheck").checkThisBox(0, (event.value=="60" || event.value=="62" || event.value=="63"));

• 2. Re: Checking Boxes based on value in a Text Field
            MikeVTelco Level 1

Hmm, it does work, but the value in the LType text field is being auto-populated from another area, and is actually going to be a hidden field that the user won't even know about.  When I try this, the number is pre-populated into the LType text field, but the check boxes aren't checked unless I go back and change the value in the LType field manually and then move to the next field to get the Validation to go off.  Is there a way to have it check the information in the text field without having to re-enter the information?

• 3. Re: Checking Boxes based on value in a Text Field