8 Replies Latest reply on Dec 31, 2013 8:15 AM by the_wine_snob

audio suddenly dissapeared?

scoutjeanfinch

I am new to adobe premiere elements. I exported a file and playing through it i realized that a small chunk was missing audio.When I went back to the timeline that part of the video had a single line as an audio bar, indicating that there was no audio recorded. However, up until this point that part of the video had audio that went along with it. It's a small part of  a sixteen minute segment and after about thirty seconds the sound comes back on.  Does anyone know what happened to this audio? And if there's any way to remediate the situation?

Thank you for your help.

• 1. Re: audio suddenly dissapeared?
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

What model of camcorder is the video coming from and what format and resolution is it? Which version of the program are you using?

If you delete the file from your timeline and project and then re-import it into your project -- and then wait until the indicator at the bottom of the program shows it is completely conformed -- and then add it to your timeline, does it show audio on the track?

• 2. Re: audio suddenly dissapeared?
            scoutjeanfinch Level 1

The camcorder is Sony HDR-PJ260. I am using Adobe Elements 12.

I deleted the file from the project and the timeline and reimported it using the file I saved in documents and the audio still didn't show up. I found the original file in the adobe elements 12 organizer and the sound is there. But when I tried to import this version the clip was broken into smaller clips and the one that I needed was 1:28 and completely silent.

• 3. Re: audio suddenly dissapeared?
              Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

This is an AVCHD camcorder. Did you use Premiere Elements' Video Importer to get the video from the camcorder to your computer over a USB connection? (Premiere Elements can't capture over HDMI.)