2 Replies Latest reply on Dec 12, 2007 1:44 AM by Garyl Woolworth

Beginner Flex2 / AS3 question

Xamublack Level 1
      I am a beginner by all respects and have decided to develop an FTP via browser application for my company website in my free time. Before I buy a few Flex 2 and Actionscript books for myself and dive in, I figured it might be smart to ask the community if its even possible or recommended.

Can you (should you) use Flex2 / AS3 as the basis for a drag and drop .ftp through browser application? If so, feel free to advise me on any Flex packages or methods to use as a basis and I can place emphasis on that in my learning.
        • 1. Re: Beginner Flex2 / AS3 question
          peterent Level 2
          There are two things you want to do which are not possible with the Flash Player: dragging something from the desktop onto the player and reading files from the local disk. The Flash Player has a number of security restrictions which make the player one of the safest things you can download over the web.

However, you can probably use AIR - available with Flex 3. AIR is the "Adobe Integrated Runtime" a sort of Flash Player for the desktop. AIR applications, which use Flex controls and ActionScript, has the capability of reading local files and you can drag items from the desktop onto AIR apps.

Check out labs.adobe.com to get a copy of Flex 3.
          • 2. Re: Beginner Flex2 / AS3 question
            Garyl Woolworth Level 1