6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 19, 2014 11:44 AM by bvconway

How do I create a Print ready Book/Novel

GreenEvils

Hi All, so I am new to Indesign and wanted to create a novel book, not an Indesign book, to send off to a printers but I am having some trouble with this. I can not seem to find help on how to get my word docs to transfer over without it mucking up. My problem is when I try to import (place) the doc it only shows on one page, and it only shows my title page. My word doc is 440 pages in size it does not hold any colour image or text, just basic B&W text how do i turn that in to a print ready book with indesign? Any and all help would make me happy, and thank you in advance.

• 1. Re: How do I create a Print ready Book/Novel
          Ellis home Level 4

When placing your document hold the Shift key and that will place the 440 pages at once.

Edit: it will be a good idea to buy A Visual QuickStart Guide by Sandy Cohen. It will give you a good start with Indesign.

• 2. Re: How do I create a Print ready Book/Novel
            Derek Cross Level 6

Hi GreenEvils

The first sentence in your question doesn't make sense, at least to me!

Anyway, Lynda.com have an excellent tutorial on how to use MSWord documents and InDesign together.

Here's a link: http://www.lynda.com/InDesign-tutorials/Using-Word-InDesign-Together/122930-2.html

They also have other tutorials on how to create books and other kinds of documents with InDesign, which as a beginner, you'll find very helpful.

And of course you can post particular questions on here for the experts answer!

Derek

• 3. Re: How do I create a Print ready Book/Novel
              GreenEvils Level 1

Thanks Ellis I will give that a go and the guide a look at.

DerekC1000, I ment a book you would publish over the indesign book which bulks your files together in a book, I realise it still doesn't make sense but i can not think how to word it any better, and thank for the link I'll check that out now.