9 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2014 6:34 AM by rob day

info

bford225 Level 1

hey i just saw this video http://tv.adobe.com/watch/make-it-with-creative-cloud/creating-your-business-card/ .

and i am wondering how does it fit with illustrator? im a photographer. i have used dreamweaver, illustrator,

took indesign and failed the classs.

i am only guessing that taking the bussines card into indesign, is to get it ready for print right?

well vista print is a whati am wanting to print from.  i already have my card made in illustrator, i am just revamping.

what is indesign good for if a photographer is using it? i have not really gotten the hold on the idea concept.

• 1. Re: info
          Derek Cross Level 6

To give you a perhaps oversimplified answer:

Photoshop - for optimising, cropping etc photographs (bitmaps - images consisting of pixels).

As a photographer I assume you use Photoshop anyway.

Illustrator - for creating vector graphics (banners, logos).

Dreamweaver is used to create websites and can use objects (eg JPGs, GIFs) that have been created in Photoshop and Illustrator.

InDesign is a desktop publishing application which is used to assemble objects created in Photoshop, Illustrator and other applications and to which type can be added to produce one to multi-page documents such as stationery, books, magazines and eBooks.

For a simple business card you can use Vista's own templates or provide artwork yourself produced from Photoshop or Illustrator or a PDF produced from InDesign.

Derek

• 2. Re: info
            bford225 Level 1