7 Replies Latest reply on Sep 18, 2015 8:19 AM by mrrealtime

creativeJS vs Adobe Edge Animate

mrwizzer2 Level 1

As a Flash developer, I'm wondering which avenue to take to best leverage my experience with Flash Professional into creating HTML5 content.  Should I begin learning how to use creativeJS, or would Adobe Edge Animate be a better approach?

The interface for Edge Animate seems quite similar to Adobe After Effects, which I'm also familiar with, so the application environment isn't so much a concern, rather, it's what will provide the best results now and in the future in migrating to HTML5.

Thanks for any feedback!

• 1. Re: creativeJS vs Adobe Edge Animate
          sinious Most Valuable Participant

The FAQ answers this question a bit:

http://html.adobe.com/edge/animate/faq.html

Which product is right for me – Edge Animate or the Toolkit for CreateJS extension for Flash Professional? What are the differences between the two?

Edge Animate works natively with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript to create animated and interactive content for the web. The Toolkit for CreateJS is targeted specifically at Flash Professional users who want to apply their existing Flash skills for creating content that is output as HTML.

It's a matter of preference on the IDE. If you plan on creating complex SWF animations in the future then it's fairly ideal (especially with deeper integration in CC) to stay with Flash Pro. If you're more comfortable coding then a combination of Flash Builder (code / 3d / Flex), Flash Pro (sophisticated 2d animation, 3d), and Edge Animate (HTML JS/CSS compatible animation) is ideal. If you just want some easily generated HTML5 effects then Edge Animate.

Nothing is a real replacement for knowing how to code JavaScript and OpenGL ES. If you're really targeting Canvas for any sophisticated animation, at some point you'll need to get a bit dirty with these maturing technologies, outside of Flash, Edge or anything else.

1 person found this helpful