5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 9, 2014 9:14 AM by bogiesan

Text falling like leaves

archie320 Level 1

I need to figure out how to make text that's transparent and in motion, stop and fall like leaves falling in a forest, eventually landing piled up on the forest floor? Is there an effect for this? Recommendations wanted. Thank you.

• 1. Re: Text falling like leaves
          Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

After Effects has a powerful text animation engine that you could use for this.

Alternatively, you could use a particle system that comes with AE (or a third party solution like Particular) to make a particle system that does this. I seem to recall a tutorial from a long time ago for using Particle Playground for this.

How experienced with AE are you?

• 2. Re: Text falling like leaves
            archie320 Level 1

Thanks for getting back. No I'm not an experienced user. Not a complete beginner but a beginner just the same. This afternoon I did render the layer as a mov file to make it an alpha layer in order to see the layers behind it. So it's no longer text but rendered text, so a MOV file. Will Particle Playground still work for that? I'll check it out.

• 3. Re: Text falling like leaves
              Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP

Anything you make in AE that has transparency can be rendered out with transparancy as you have done. Particle Playground is no exception. Try doing a Google search for tutorials that'll fit what you need.

However, if you haven't gone through some quality basic training in AE, I would highly recommend starting here.

• 4. Re: Text falling like leaves
                archie320 Level 1