6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2014 10:07 AM by pixel_a_ted

ExtendScript Problem

pixel_a_ted Level 1

I'm new to scripting and trying to test out ExtendScript. I'm using Photoshop CS5 on a Windows 7 machine.

I found a file ExtendScript Toolkit.exe in Program Files (x86)/Adobe/Adobe Utilities/ CS5/ ExtendScript Toolkit CS5. When I double click on this, the expected ExtendScript window opens briefly and immediately closes.

What might be causing this, and how can I get the window to stay open?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: ExtendScript Problem
          Tom Ruark Adobe Employee

Try holding the Shift key as you launch it. That should reset the preferences and start it clean.

• 2. Re: ExtendScript Problem
            pixel_a_ted Level 1

Thanks, but I tried holding the Shift key as I launched ExtendScript Toolkit.exe and found the same thing - the window appeared briefly then disappeared.

• 3. Re: ExtendScript Problem
              Tom Ruark Adobe Employee

Bummer. My only other suggestion would be one that I don't like but I would try uninstalling and reinstalling then.

• 4. Re: ExtendScript Problem
                pixel_a_ted Level 1

Still working on this - do you mean reinstall Photoshop or just the ExtendScript Toolkit program? I hesitate to do the former as I have PS set up with some plug-ins etc. and don't want to rock the boat.

As for ExtendScript itself, when it launches i can momentarily keep the window up by holding the mouse key down on it and I was able to do Help/About. It said it's version 3.5.1.59 (and then of course disappeared). On Adobe's website I was able to download "AdobeExtendScriptToolkit3.5.0-mul.zip" for CS5 from the ExtendScript Toolkit Archives.

Do you think I can just go ahead and install it? If so:

o Will it replace the existing ExtendScript folder, i.e. do I lose what I have, even though it's not working?

o Why would Adobe have an older version on its website?

Thanks.