11 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2014 7:34 PM by A.T. Romano

Workflow HV30 30p to Blu Ray

idrive67elky

I am having the hardest time trying to figure out how to import / edit / burn (not even sure if that is the right terms) my family's home videos.  I am a beginner with all of this, but competent if someone can just point me the right way...

I have a big backlog of HDV home videos all shot in 30p mode on my Canon Vixia HV30. 

I want to do 3 things, in order of priority:

1) Transfer the raw footage from the HDV in the camera to a hard drive(or other media) in max quality for storage and easy retrieval in the future if and when the tape based camera dies.

2) Burn the footage to a Blu Ray disc for playing in a BR player connected to my TV. (no conversion needed?)

3) Edit the footage in the highest possible quality and burn to BR.

4) convert and then burn the footage to a DVD disc for playing in a DVD player connected to my TV. (lower priority)

I have an HV30, all 30p footage, a powerful new pc, a blu ray writer with discs, Premiere Elements 12.

None of the default project setting seem to match the progressive 30p format that I filmed in.  Is PE12 capable of doing what I want it to?

Thanks for the help!

• 1. Re: Workflow HV30 30p to Blu Ray
          Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Which version of Premiere Elements are you using?

Also, by HDV, you do mean tape-based HDV, right?

If version 12, attach your camcorder to your computer with a FireWire cable and use Premiere Elements' Add Media/From HDV Camcorder to capture your footage.

In versions 11 or 12, when you add this footage to your timeline, the program will automatically set up your project based on your video specs. In earlier versions of the program, you will need to to this manually.

Create your menu system using the Movie Menus tool in the Tools set. Then use Publish & Share/To Disc to output your BluRay.