8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 13, 2014 2:10 PM by Szalam

Importing AVI to After Effects

Rainbow Stylin Level 1

Hello

I've read a few discussions, on adobe forums, and elsewhere, but not found an answer yet.

I can't import AVI videos into after effects CS6, can anybody tell me why?

I think the codec is H.264 AVC (I'm pretty new to this, so sorry if this is wrong).

I am using 40 minute videos in AVI (H.264 AVC) that are approx 2GB in size (no idea how to reduce file size without affecting quality by the way). 720p, sometimes 1080p.

As I cannot import to CS6, I have to firstly convert in handbrake, however, this adds time to the process, and really hammers down on the quality of the video (even when selecting the best settings).

Thank you

• 1. Re: Importing AVI to After Effects
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

If it uses a specific CoDec, then you will have to install it on your system. I'm sure whatever camera you use came with a CD for that or the manufacturer offers a download on his site. Beyond that simply do some reading up on this stuff. I'm sure with the right settings it will transcode flawlessly in Handbrake. Also if possible set your camera to record without an AVI wrapper as plain MP4/MPG files. Saves you all the trouble...

Mylenium

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Importing AVI to After Effects
            Rainbow Stylin Level 1

Unfortunately, the camera I use, starts in DAV (which plays on nothing universal), and has an onboard converter to AVI only (no MP4 / MPG). There is a good reason why it is only DAV and AVI.

I guess I simply cannot put AVI into After Effects.

Thanks

• 3. Re: Importing AVI to After Effects
              Chris Mo Evans

If you really want to import AVI without having to convert them, do a google search for AVI codecs for AE and you might be able to find something.

• 4. Re: Importing AVI to After Effects
                Szalam Adobe Community Professional & MVP