3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 15, 2014 12:00 PM by A.T. Romano

Shaky Video Playback

Nupetastik1

I am new to editing and I am currently experiencing shaky video playback in Premiere Elements 12.

I am working from a laptop currently and I am not sure if it is my computer specs which is the issue or software is the issue.

I am recording with Canon Rebel t3i in HD 1080 29fps.

Processor: AMD E-350 1.6 GHz

RAM: 5.6 usable

• 1. Re: Shaky Video Playback
          A.T. Romano Level 7

Nupetastik1

What are the properties of your source media that are going to the Expert workspace Timeline?

Is that 1920 x 1080 @ 29.97 progressive or interlaced frames per second?

What are you or the project setting as the project preset for this project? You may have to set the project preset manually if the program is doing an automatic set and it is not correct.

When you drag your video to the Timeline for the first time, what is seen at the top of Timeline directly above the

video on VIdeo Track 1

a. no colored line

b. green line

c. orange line

If you see an orange line, does rendering the Timeline improve the playback situation?

An orange line over the Timeline content when first dragged to the Timeline may imply that the project settings are not correct for your video properties.

Let us start here and then we can decide what next.

Thank you.

ATR

• 2. Re: Shaky Video Playback
            Steve Grisetti Adobe Community Professional

Part of the issue is that your processor is way way underpowered for this kind of video editing.

Ideally you want a processor that rates at least a 5500 or more on these benchmark tests.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/high_end_cpus.html

Your processor rates about 745.

http://www.cpubenchmark.net/midlow_range_cpus.html

• 3. Re: Shaky Video Playback
              A.T. Romano Level 7

Nupetastik1

The answers will be in the details.