14 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2014 8:37 AM by acbeatty6

editing Autocad text

acbeatty6

I am new to Indesign CS6. I have been trying unsuccessfully to import/paste text from my Autocad.dwg file and use the Indesign text edit tools to format/edit them. Any advice?

• 1. Re: editing Autocad text
          Jeffrey_Smith Most Valuable Participant

You can not edit directly in Indesign, any aspect (including text) of an imported graphic. This includes all import formats.

Copy and pasting text from other apps into Indesign is limited to highlighting text+copy and in ID, placing cursor in text frame+paste. Any other method results in an un-editable object.

• 2. Re: editing Autocad text
            acbeatty6 Level 1

Thanks for your response, I have Adobe Acrobat X Standard. Is there a way I can export into a .PDF file and then import this into InDesign?

• 3. Re: editing Autocad text

As long as exporting PDF from Autocad preserves text, and does not convert it to objects. Open PDF in Acrobat, then Save as > More Options > Plain Text. This text file can be imported into ID.

But, does Autocad preserve text in anything but it's native format?

• 4. Re: editing Autocad text
                acbeatty6 Level 1

Well this sort of worked but sort of didnt. I am able to import the .txt file but all the formatting is gone. All the lines justified to the left of the screen (see below). Any more ideas? Any further suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks Allan

01-17-14 9-02-00 AM.png

• 5. Re: editing Autocad text
                  John Mensinger Adobe Community Professional & MVP

It's difficult to offer advice without more context around exactly what you're attempting.