8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 16, 2014 3:55 PM by Bo LeBeau

How to export a PDF including all of the borders?

Nathan Towle Level 1

I am very new to InDesign.  I have only used it a handful of times and am unfamiliar with setting up pages.  I was given a file and I have to export it.

The problem is that, when I export it as a PDF, a small part of the image is cut off on each page.  I have attached an image showing this.

The outermost red "border" does not export.  Only the black "border" and everything inside the black border export.  I want to export everything, including the parts of the image included in the outermost red border.

It is only about .125," but it is part of the bleed area, and if it doesn't export, everything is too close to the edge.  Does anyone know how to export everything, including the outermost red border?  I apologize if this is obvious.  I am just not well acquainted yet with the program.  Thank you very much in advanced.

Operating System: Mac OS X (10.9)

InDesign Version: CS6

Screen Shot 2014-01-16 at 3.26.21 PM.png

• 1. Re: How to export a PDF including all of the borders?
          Salah Fadlabi Level 5

On Export Adobe PDF>Marks and Bleeds>Bleed define the top/bottom/left/right

• 2. Re: How to export a PDF including all of the borders?
            Daniel Flavin Level 4

The black border does not export, by default. Acrobat may show the same border, but it is not part of the file in any way.

You seem to grasp that everything beyond the black border is "bleed" allowance and is intended to be scrap, off-cut after production/trimming.

The area within the red border is your defined bleed, but you can increase or decrease that amount during the export process.

That being said, you can choose to include "Visable Lines and Baseline Grids" from the General tab of the Export dialog.

I'm not sure how they are handled in the pdf, I expect they are Printing as opposed to non-printing and I think you should consider NOT including them.