8 Replies Latest reply on Jan 18, 2014 3:38 PM by Peter Spier

Q2ID document can't use Style Sheets

jtfey

I've used Markzware's Q2ID to convert a Quark 7.5 document to InDesign CS6. All the style sheets came over with the conversion but none of them have Apply to Selection checked when I open up the style sheet.

Thus, the style sheets are of no use.

Any way to modify these style sheets so they're usable?

Thanks.

• 1. Re: Q2ID document can't use Style Sheets
          Jeffrey_Smith Most Valuable Participant

This option does not have any bearing on your styles and situation. "Apply to Selection" is used when creating a style. If you have text highlighted, you can have text applied with newly created style when exiting style panel. When you do a Q2ID conversion, styles can be modified from XP to ID. And a style that was applied to certain text, may not have any style applied.

• 2. Re: Q2ID document can't use Style Sheets
            jtfey Level 1

Pardon me for being a total newbie. I'm brand, spanking new to InDesign and thought this was the reason why styles weren't being applied. The small daily newspaper for which I work is going to transition from Quark to ID next week and all I can see is a big, black cloud approaching.

What I discovered is that right-clicking on the style and picking the correct command fixed the issue. I initially thought that highlighting the text in question and clicking on the appropriate style sheet would apply it, but that didn't seem to be the case. I still think that simple move should apply the style sheet but it doesn't.

Much to learn...

Thanks for the help.

• 3. Re: Q2ID document can't use Style Sheets
              Joel Cherney Adobe Community Professional & MVP

The small daily newspaper for which I work is going to transition from Quark to ID next week and all I can see is a big, black cloud approaching.