6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 22, 2014 9:22 PM by mgreed

Premiere Pro on a 27-inch iMac (SSD or Fusion drive)

mgreed

I am a serious budding professional filmmaker and my current budget is considering a 27-inch iMac with their 3TB Fusion drive and 32GB of RAM.  A friend tells me that a seperate 512BG SSD and 3TB normal HDD would be a better deal, but I can't get that on the iMac.  I have an external four drive 16TB RAID setup connected by USB3.  Would that work with a 512GB SSD in an iMac to give me better performance than getting the iMac with their 3TB Fusion drive?

Would there be a huge difference with the possible drive setups available by going with a Mac Pro tower, my budget could possibly be stretched for it?  It is really too expensive...but if it would make things MUCH faster, I would consider it.

Also, I understand that PremPro is multi-threading and can work with up to 12 cores.  Would that make a huge difference over the Quad-core available in the iMac, or is the extra core system only a minor improvement?

Lastly, would the iMac's "NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M 4GB GDDR5" graphics card be good enough?

Thank you for any help.  Nathan Ehrlich (on a friend's computer)

• 1. Re: Premiere Pro on a 27-inch iMac (SSD or Fusion drive)
          cc_merchant Level 4

A friend tells me that a seperate 512BG SSD and 3TB normal HDD would be a better deal, but I can't get that on the iMac

He is right.

I have an external four drive 16TB RAID setup connected by USB3.  Would that work with a 512GB SSD in an iMac to give me better performance than getting the iMac with their 3TB Fusion drive?

Yes, although the USB3 raid is very slow.

Would there be a huge difference with the possible drive setups available by going with a Mac Pro tower, my budget could possibly be stretched for it?

Definitely.