15 Replies Latest reply on Feb 17, 2014 11:50 AM by Seth Denlinger

Drive Configuration

Seth Denlinger

Hi folks. Thanks for all the advice on here. I'm a noob and don't know what I'm talking about, so please be gentle! I've been reading for months but I think I'm still making mistakes. I will give you the short version:

I built a PC for editing, it was working and then I started having Adobe shut-downs and later BSOD. I memtested. No seen problems with my RAM. My specs list was OKAYED by other forums. I will work on getting those specs up right now I'm approaching other solutions:

1) My SATA C drive is 120 GBs and with only Windows and Adobe it's nearly full. Something is wrong, right? It should only be like 40 GBs full..? I think this lack of space is now totally slowing my system down. Not sure.

2) If I work that out, I want make sure that my disk configuration is done right -- I thought it was, but now I'm not sure because of the issues.

C - SATA 120 GBS - OS and Adobe

E - I have 4 2tb drives setup with RAID 10

Then I have 1 TB hard drive

And another 1 TB hard drive

I know -- after reading more Harm -- this isn't ideal. Right now I can't go deeper and make the ultimate setup. I need to see if I can make this work.

My source media is on the E. Is that wrong?

In the scratch-disk section of Adobe, I have the first two boxes set on the E drive and then the last two are on H (1tb) and I (1tb) ---

Does this seem right?

Thanks,

Seth

• 1. Re: Drive Configuration
          John T Smith Adobe Community Professional & MVP

>My SATA C drive is 120 GBs and with only Windows and Adobe it's nearly full

My GUESS is that you are using the default locations for your temporary files, so read

Drive C space http://forums.adobe.com/thread/1007934?tstart=0

Read Bill Hunt on BSOD shutdowns http://forums.adobe.com/thread/772169

• 2. Re: Drive Configuration
            RjL190365 Level 4