7 Replies Latest reply on Nov 30, 2007 7:34 AM by peterent

Working with mixed-content XML

soup_pot
      Am new to Flex 2 and AS 3 but well versed in XML and related technologies. This is my first time posting to the forum.

I have a simple Flex application that loads an external XML file via HTTPService and binds the XML to some MXML form controls. This works well as long as the XML element contains simple text, but breaks when the element contains a mixture of text and other elements (e.g. mixed-content).

<something>some text</something> (Fine)
      <something>some <b>bold</b> text</something> (Breaks).

Just wondering if anyone has could point me to an example of a Flex application interpreting mixed content XML. I've looked at various forums and in books and there isn't a lot on the subject from what I can see. Most of the XML examples I've found use flat, database/table-style XML which don't suit my purposes.

Thanks

Heather
        • 1. Re: Working with mixed-content XML
          peterent Level 2
          Are you saying that <mx:Text text="{xmlvar.something}" ... /> isn't working? If you could post some of the MXML it would be helpful. But what I think your XML should be is:

<something><![CDATA[some <b>bold</b> text]]></something>
          • 2. Re: Working with mixed-content XML
            soup_pot Level 1
            Thanks for the reply. Changing the XML source isn't an option. To give some background, the content is a news feature article. I'm trying to load multiple XML paragraphs from the body of the article into a RichtextEditor control.

MXML:
            <mx:RichTextEditor htmlText="{featureData.lastResult.content.body_text.p}" ... />

XML:
            <body_text>
            <p>body text body text body text body text body text body text body text.</p>
            <p>here is some <b>bold</b> text. and some <i>italic</i> text. </p>
            </body_text>

Flex result is: