3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 24, 2014 4:49 PM by htimsabbub23

background help

htimsabbub23

I am very new to after effects (two day user) I am however very versed in photoshop. What I did was a record a video with a sheet as the background in green however its the wrong shade of green (army green). I would like to remove the bckground and place our company logo behind it. This is what I want it to look like but the rotobrush tool is very annoying. Is there a way to easily isolate that background color and delete or if any of your pros have a better way to help that would be great. Please don't just paste a link to another thread. I have done my share of searching (6 hours) and could not find a great answer.  Thanks BradCapture.jpeg

• 1. Re: background help
          Todd_Kopriva Level 8

This page gives an overview of the various resources avaibale for that kind of compositing task:

http://helpx.adobe.com/en/after-effects/using/compositing-transparency-overview-resources. html

One thing to be aware of, though, is that compositing is a lot of work and there is not one-click solution to something like this, especially when you haven't done the right things in pre-production and production, such as shooting and lighting a scene for color keying. You say that the Roto Brush is "annoying"; I think that the professionals here would all tell you that it's a lot less annoying that the old way of animating masks by hand (conventional rotoscoping).

I very strongly recommend that you spend some time methodically working your way through the basics before you jump into the deep end:

http://adobe.ly/AE_basics

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: background help
            htimsabbub23 Level 1