0 Replies Latest reply on Jan 25, 2014 12:41 PM by lokeanflamingo

Shortcut to toggle pattern presets in pattern picker?

lokeanflamingo

I am looking for a faster way to toggle patterns in the pattern picker dialog. See a screen capture here:

http://imgur.com/Wey2Qnx

Okay, so first let me explain why I need to do this. I am a pattern designer with hundreds of designs. I have created batch actions to apply my patterns to various mockup type imagery for the purpose of displaying my designs on things such as pillows (which I make and sale) and t-shirts. These batch actions first require what I call a "flat" which is whatever file type and dimensions/resolutions established for the actions. So I start out with a folder (for example) of 150 tiff files all 18 x 18 inches at 300 dpi and the action will take those "flats" and process them onto pillow mockups.

To create my 150 flats, I take a template file (white with no layers, just the correct resolution/color profile/dimensions, etc.) and I create 150 fill layers from pattern presets (which I have made and are located at the time in my preset box). I have a shortcut for Layer>New Fill Layer>Pattern that allows me to create my first pattern layer. I hit the enter key to accept the parameters in the pattern fill dialogue to finalize creation of the new fill layer. I then use a keyboard shortcut for Layer>New>Layer Via Copy to duplicate the newest pattern fill layer.

I should note right now that the reason I use one template file with 150 pattern fill layers to make these flats is because I always go the route of File>Scripts>Export Layers to Files which is for me the fastest way to create my flats with identical parameters.