7 Replies Latest reply on Jun 22, 2006 1:13 AM by Peter Lorent

Adding Event Broadcasting to a Class

SPGAnne Level 1
      A newbie here, so please be gentle.

I am trying to create a new class where I want each instance to be able to broadcast messages. I have tried to use AsBroadcaster. In the constructor function I have

AsBroadcaster.initialize(this);

Then inside one of my class's private methods

this.broadcastMessage("myEvent");

When I check the script, I get an error saying "There is no method with the name 'broadcastMessage' ".

Is it not possible to use AsBroadcaster inside a class? If not, what would be a good/easy way to add this kind of functionality?

In one of my planned uses of this I could have 100's of instances that need to broadcast, so I need a light weight easy way to do this.

Thanks in advance for anyone who can help me.
        • 1. Re: Adding Event Broadcasting to a Class
          Peter Lorent Level 2
          >>Is it not possible to use AsBroadcaster inside a class?
          Sure you can. You just need to add the following properties to the class definition:
          private var broadcastMessage:Function;
          public var addListener:Function;
          • 2. Re: Adding Event Broadcasting to a Class
            SPGAnne Level 1
            LuigiL comes to my rescue and aid again. Thank you so very much!

I did as you suggested and also found some more sample code in the LiveDocs section on AsBroadcaster. All works if I call a method from outside the class, but I run into a snag when I try to do this from inside the magic stuff you helped me with in my other post about handling onRollOver stuff inside a custom class. Specifically, this is the code that doesn't seem to work:
            class Hotspot {
            private var hotspot_mc:MovieClip; // reference to a movie clip that will provide up, over, down appearance
            private var cursor:CustomCursor; // this is a reference to the customCursor