5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 30, 2014 11:22 PM by moccamaximum

Help - Streamline Process

Rainbow Stylin

I wonder if anyone may offer any suggestions.

I produce 40 minute videos and my end goal is to have a file that is as small as possible, with the priority of keeping best quality footage (720p used, 1080p too large and too long to render)

1) The initial file I receive is in the video format DAV (which plays on very few media players).

2) I must then convert to AVI (AVC).

3) This is not accepted in AE CS6, so I use handbrake in order to convert to MP4. Settings 18RF, compromise of file size and quality.

4) Import to AE and render.

5) Sometimes add to Handbrake for a last time to reduce the size.

This is quite a long process, but the biggest problem I have is losing the quality of the video, but I do not know how to skip so many conversions on points 2, 3, 4.

Any suggestions would be great, as I'm quite new to video editing

Thanks

• 1. Re: Help - Streamline Process
          moccamaximum Level 5

If your AVI is uncompressed at Stage 2, you shouldn`t have any more quality loss, you will need of course a lot of space for that, around 160 GB for one 40min-videofile, which means you definitevely need a 64bit system/software.

you can maybe fake "uncompresseed" by looking into an encoder which lets you set a keyframe at every frame of your file which could reduce the resulting videofilesize without losing any visible quality.

• 2. Re: Help - Streamline Process
            Rainbow Stylin Level 1

AE doesn't allow me to use the AVI (AVC) file I have, I asked this in another discussion and determined there was no way around this.

Therefore, I convert it to MP4 on Handrake to enable me to import to AE.

You have to excuse my ignorance to part of your responses; I use windows 7 64 bit, my hard drive has more than 160GB free?

If I render the above as AVI, the file is HUGE, so I select H.264 MP4, and it renders to about 1.5GB to 2GB.