6 Replies Latest reply on Jan 31, 2014 9:17 AM by A.T. Romano

What Project Settings to Use?

HapJax

Hi,

I am very new to this program and would like to put together a movie using video clips taken from my iPhone. When complete, it will need to be saved as an FLV for web viewing. What settings should I use when I create a new project in PrE12? Also, I want to insert slides in between clips. If I create them in PhotoShop or Illustrator, what dimensions should they be if I want them to be the same dimensions as the video clips? Thanks for any help!

• 1. Re: What Project Settings to Use?
          the_wine_snob Level 9

Hapjax,

What version of PrE are you using?

What OS version are you running it on?

What are the full specs. of your iPhone footage, such as Frame Size in pixels x pixels, Frame-Rate in FPS, is the Frame-Rate Variable, what format, and what CODEC is used.

That will help determine the Project settings, and also point up where problems might exist, such as a Variable Frame-Rate from a camera phone. In PrE 11 & 12, the program can set your Project settings, based on the first Clip Imported, or you can set those manually, if they are not interpreted perfectly by PrE.

As for the AI, or PSD Images, they should be Saved_As with the same pixel x pixel dimensions, or only slightly larger, than the Frame Size of the Video footage, say 2000 x 1500 for a 1920 x 1080 Video. I also recommend taking any AI documents into Ps to do the Rasterization, as I find that better, than Importing an AI into PrE.

Good luck, and please let us know a bit more,

Hunt

1 person found this helpful
          • 2. Re: What Project Settings to Use?
            HapJax Level 1

Hi Hunt,

I am using Pr12 on Windows XP.

So, once i import my first clip, the program will set the proper project settings for me? If so, where do I go to figure out the frame size so I can match up my JPGs to that size?

Thanks!

• 3. Re: What Project Settings to Use?
              the_wine_snob Level 9