2 Replies Latest reply on Aug 8, 2006 9:50 AM by I tried

Flash to Flex Migration

I tried Level 1
      I'm a flash programmer very interested in flex. My company has asked me to do some research and come up with some reasons why we should begin to implement flex. I've found many reasons online to use flex, but no real direct comparisons to flash. I'm just asking for compelling reasons to use flex over flash (most of our stuff is data driven application-like stuff, so I think flex would be a good fit). Personal experiences and examples would be great.

Thanks ahead of time
      Robert
        • 1. Re: Flash to Flex Migration
          peterent Level 2
          While I work for Adobe and am not completely unbiased, I'll give you my personal experience.

I used to work for a large financial services company. Lots of Java work going on. I picked up Flash as a way to build more interesting web applications, leveraging Flash's remote object capability with J2EE applications (Flash Remoting). I wrote some interesting apps with it.

When I approached the "architects" in the group, they made a big thumbs-down on it. Didn't matter that the programs were easier to distribute (Flash Player vs. Java Web Start), ran faster (no page refreshes compared to Struts/Tiles), and more interesting to use. The problem was a) ActionScript wasn't has heavily data-typed as Java and more prone to logic problems since it fails silently; b) the Flash movie metaphor - not good for corporate types; c) no easy source code control.