16 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2014 8:20 AM by A.T. Romano

Random Flashes Appear in Shared Videos

Jerry Mann Level 1

I am now looking for the answer to this problem, and searching this forum and the Elements Village forum (and Google, too) has not yielded any answers. Any suggestions will be much appreciated.

I am having a problem with my shared videos, that I did not have the last time I edited a project. The problem is random flashes or strobing in all footage in the shared video. It is not a total white out, but a definite lift in exposure. The problem does not show up in the timeline. My project is an interview, with 3 cameras. I am changing opacity to cut from camera to camera. The subject is essentially still, with minimal gesturing. This is the same approach I used on a previous project with no troubles. I am using Premier Elements 10. I am a professional still photographer, with basic and occasional experience with video work, but I am not a power-user. The full specs for projects, cameras and system are listed below. I have posted a 4 second clip of the shared video at YouTube. I would suggest video at HD720 setting to best see the flashing trouble: http://youtu.be/l6SMXmmENHM

I had heard that using the "AutoTone & Vibrance" Effect would cause this problem, and I was using that effect. So I unchecked the "Auto" checkbox in that effect, and made my adjustments manually. I exported a short test and the problem seemed to disappear. However, when I output the final full length video (10 minutes), the effect was showing up again, BUT not as bad.

I am suspecting it still has to do with some effects I have applied, because when I unchecked "Auto" the problem was reduced noticeably. The effects that I have applied, to some clips, but not all clips, are:

-Auto Tone & Vibrance (unchecked "Auto" box, and made manual adjustments)

-3-way Color

-New Blue Noise Reducer

-Opacity.