3 Replies Latest reply on Aug 14, 2006 5:46 PM by BSpero

touchscreen

oreopeewee Level 1
      Beginner here!!! Can anyone direct me to good beginner info on using touchscreens with Director? When I say beginner I mean BEGINNER

THANKS
        • 1. Re: touchscreen
          frashjiveturkey
          There are a couple of things you need to do that differ from making a regular CD-ROM.

Hide the mouse cursor. Do this in a startmovie handler...
          on startmovie
          cursor 200
          end

Also find out the spec for the hardware it'll be running on.
          This will help you design to the exact screen size - 1280x1024 seems to be the usual - but check before you start!

You don't need to bother with rollovers for buttons - as soon as someone presses the screen it registers as a mousedown. Although you could add some effect for a pressed button instead. ie. replace a standard on mouseenter me with on mousedown me (Just remember to swap the graphic back on the mouseup).

There's nothing extra to do regarding user input - someone pressing the screen is registerd as a mousedown and lifting off the screen is a mouseup. The cursor instantly jumps to where the screen is pressed. All this is handles by the hardware.

One other thing. Make your buttons big enough to press with your finger instead of a mouse - try using contextual menus in windows on a touchscreen and you'll see the problem instantly.

Deryck
          http://thecooker.net
          • 2. Re: touchscreen
            Level 7
            > You don't need to bother with rollovers for buttons - as soon as someone
            > presses the screen it registers as a mousedown. Although you could add
            some
            > effect for a pressed button instead. ie. replace a standard on mouseenter
            me
            > with on mousedown me (Just remember to swap the graphic back on the
            mouseup).
            >