4 Replies Latest reply on Feb 4, 2014 10:47 AM by bogiesan

Creating Light Trails

Daniella80

Hi.

I am new to AE and video editing for that matter.

I would like to know if the following is possible. I would like to film a scene at night that will progress from having just the empty background to having light trails, then the pushbike.

I hope to dolly/track parallel to the road, following an imaginery bike (all we see is the BG). Then light trails from where the rear and front lights of a pushbike would be start to appear and track along with the camera, but the bike isn't yet visible, just the lights, as the scene unfolds the light trails continue but begin to merge with the pushbike and person cycling. The end of the shot is the night scene with the bike and a short light trail eminating from the bike before fading out.

I hope this description is clear enough, in my head it is.

Many thanks for any tips, tutorials that might make this possible.

Many thanks.

• 1. Re: Creating Light Trails
          Mylenium Most Valuable Participant

And what is the specific issue? This hasn't so much to do with AE at all but your shooting in the first place. Either you require to use a motion control system to create the two plates with and without the bike or you'd have to use elaborate rotoscoping to remove the bike after the fact. also the question is whether you want to shoot as real longtime-exposure to create the trails in camera or create them e.g. using Trapcode particular and tracking. In the latter case simply typing search terms into Googel will find you tons of tutorials. Still, again, I think you are worrying about postproduction when you have not yet a clear idea of how you are actually going to shoot it. As with all these things - 80% of the success come from the planning.

Mylenium

• 2. Re: Creating Light Trails
            Daniella80 Level 1