1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 10, 2014 4:50 AM by Malachor01

Using GPO to uninstall flash and then install latest version

Malachor01

Hello,

I wonder if someone could help me please.  Please bare with me as I am new to Group Policy, Scripting and Command Line usage.

Given the recent security vulnerabilities in any Flash Player prior to 12.0.0.44 we need to get the latest version on all our clients asap.  We have about 1000 clients ranging from Windows XP SP3 (95% of computers) and the rest a mix of Windows 7 x32/x64 bit and one Windows 8 machine.  We have a very old Server 2003 SP2 tertiary Domain Controller setup and do not have the necessary GPO extensions to do some of the more useful things like computer file placement (for mms.cfg configs etc).

I apologise for my ignorance and lack of understanding with these things however I'm looking to do (what others seem to accomplish so easily over the Web) just two things:

1) Uninstall Flash Player from client machines using a "Computer-based" Group Policy (Note: This could be ANY version from version 10 to 12 so we don't have the luxury of "upgrading" via Group Policy as no previous policies exist for this, and it has to be a computer-based policy because we don't want the software to install for every user that logs on and also because they don't have Admin privileges)

2) Install the latest version of Flash Player (12.0.0.44) once the previous version have been removed (cleanly with no corruption/left-over registry keys etc)

I should point out I have successfully deployed the latest version to a test machine using a computer-based policy using a simple MSI package, however it installs it "alongside" the current version.  This is not what we want. We want ALL traces of old version to be removed regardless of version and the LATEST version to be installed in its place.

Here's what I have tried so far: